Amount of Time to Go Through All 12 Tones

Comments and questions about AP Avenue.
LadyBluebell

Amount of Time to Go Through All 12 Tones

Postby LadyBluebell » Sat Dec 22, 2012 4:08 pm

How long does it take most people to complete each tone? Time per day, months, etc.

I know one spends a lot of time on C, but is it generally a month, 6 months, year?

Thanks for your insights!

zacxpacx

Postby zacxpacx » Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:11 pm

Hey LadyBlueBell, I just picked up APA again after a two break leave from ear training. I wanted to give APA a few days work before I attempted to reply to your question. The short answer: it depends. Different people will progress at very different rates. Chris has probably heard the most APA experience stories and he says speed of progression is correlated to existing musical experience.

I am a practicing musician. Right now, I am on level 115 of C, with totally random timbre. My ear training right now isn't focused on APA though. I've been playing with chroma buckets, a game concept I thought up and wanted to test out. I will start taking APA more seriously, and I plan on finishing all pitches to level 150 (which is the level I've heard the next pitch unlocks) by May.

If you are a practicing musician, I think 4-6 months is a realistic time-frame to complete all 12 pitches to level 150. But really, individual results vary a lot. I'd suggest taking a look at the APA forum and read up on other people's experiences.

zacxpacx

Postby zacxpacx » Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:08 pm

Forgot to mention: how much time you put into APA matters a lot. My 4-6 month time-frame assumes a good 20 minutes a day playing APA.

LadyBluebell

Thank You

Postby LadyBluebell » Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:50 am

Thank you for your helpful response, zacxpacx. I really appreciate it.